Displaying items by tag: Department of Surgery

Paige M. Porrett, M.D., Ph.D., associate professor in the Department of Surgery, has recently been honored with the Heersink School of Medicine's Featured Discovery award. She has been awarded alongside the first authors Rebecca Asiimwe, bioinformatician III in the Porrett Lab, and Matthew D. Cheung, a medical scientist graduate trainee. This initiative recognizes significant research contributions from Heersink faculty members. 

Twenty-eight UAB employees recently graduated from the Emerging Leaders Series (ELS) Spring 2024 program. In its pilot year, the program, presented by UAB Medicine’s Leadership Development Office (LDO), recognized its first cohort of graduates at a ceremony on May 23, 2024.

UAB Medicine’s Leadership Development Office recognized 13 individuals in its third cohort of Momentum Leaders in Medicine at UAB during a graduation ceremony on May 7, 2024.

The spring 2024 Endowed Chairs and Professorships Reception honored the distinguished faculty members of the Heersink School of Medicine for their outstanding impact on contemporary medicine and medical education. Anupam Agarwal, M.D., the dean of the Heersink School of Medicine, extended a warm welcome to the honorees, their families, and other leaders from the school. The gathering took place at the Wallace Tumor Institute on April 17. 

The UAB Marnix E. Heersink School of Medicine was honored to welcome National Institutes of Health (NIH) Director Monica Bertagnolli, M.D., as the guest lecturer for the Department of Surgery’s annual Kirby I. Bland, M.D., Endowed Lectureship.

Tagged under
Page 1 of 20